Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

I Am Making a Mission.dat Editor

<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 28 Sep 2007, 04:01

I Am Making a Mission.dat Editor

Hi everyone,
I am making a Mission[i].dat editor!!!!! :D
so far you can only edit files as text but I will add a GUI later.
Get a version from: http://lewin.namsys.com.au/kam
I am making it in Lazarus (an open source version of Delphi)
If you are interested here's how you can help:
- Help me translate it into other languages. So far I have had offers for: Dutch, Polish, German, Bosnian (Croatian)
- Test it, find bugs and make suggestions
- Encourage me. If you want this to go ahead, contact me and tell me you are interested. The more people interested, the more likely I am to keep developing it.
Contact me:
Email: lewinjh@gmail.com
ICQ: 26912705
MSN: lewin@namsys.com.au
Yahoo: lewinlewinhodgman
or just PM me!
<<

Merchator

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 28 Sep 2007, 22:31

Hm, nice idea.
There are some mission.dat editors, but no REAL
mission editor, where u can place buildings and troops.
U can read ALL commands by looking in the map-section.
Evrytihing is explained there.

So, good luck :wink:
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 29 Sep 2007, 01:27

roTahCreM wrote:U can read ALL commands by looking in the map-section.
Evrytihing is explained there.

Where is that? Could you send a link? I found some documentation at the decoding section of this website (I downloaded the text file here) But it didn't explain some stuff (eg. AI and goals) so if you could send me a link that would be great!
<<

Merchator

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 29 Sep 2007, 07:04

<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2152

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 29 Sep 2007, 19:26

I'm interested in a mission editor where I can place buildings and paths directly on a map. :)

The information in merchators link is totally incorrect.

!ADD_GOAL 2 0 511 1200 <-- Message 511 will be sent after ''1200'' (these are not seconds)
!ADD_GOAL 3 1 0 1 <-- You have to destroy all important buildings* of player 1
!ADD_GOAL 3 1 0 2 <-- You have to destroy all important buildings* of player 2
!ADD_GOAL 4 1 0 1 <-- You have to kill all soldiers of player 1
!ADD_GOAL 4 1 0 2 <-- You have to kill all soldiers of player 2
!ADD_GOAL 4 1 0 3 <-- You have to kill all soldiers of player 3
!ADD_LOST_GOAL 3 0 0 0 <--You have lost when your important buildings* are destroyed.

*storehouse, barracks, school.

Good luck with your project.
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1231

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Finland

Post 21 Oct 2007, 08:51

Hey this is a quite nice tool you have here! I'm sure it will make Mission editing quite a lot easier! Thanks to this you don't really need to remember all of the commands and values. It could be nice if there were features that would help placing things like street from one building to another, though I don't know exactly how one could make it easier without making it completely graphical :D
And is that send message button supposed to be a dummy? For me it does nothing.
<<

Nick

Crossbowman

Posts: 240

Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 23:00

Post 21 Oct 2007, 11:05

nice, but will it be possible to place buildings on a map file. Like u open a .map and then u select a school and u can place it on the map and it gets the XY position wher u placed it...
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 21 Oct 2007, 11:12

Real Hotdog wrote:Hey this is a quite nice tool you have here! I'm sure it will make Mission editing quite a lot easier! Thanks to this you don't really need to remember all of the commands and values. It could be nice if there were features that would help placing things like street from one building to another, though I don't know exactly how one could make it easier without making it completely graphical :D
And is that send message button supposed to be a dummy? For me it does nothing.

The send message is only working in the latest version (0.1.6). I often add buttons without making them do anything, but I add them eventually. :wink: I am going to make it graphical at some point but I am going to get the text version going first. If not completely, at least partly. ie. you set all x y s on the map, but that's all. I think the text version will be done by the end of the month, then I will start on the GUI. I think by Christmas it will be working well. Do you have any suggestions or comments? If so please tell me.
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 21 Oct 2007, 11:14

Nick wrote:nice, but will it be possible to place buildings on a map file. Like u open a .map and then u select a school and u can place it on the map and it gets the XY position wher u placed it...

Yes, I am going to make it graphical, but not yet. See post above.
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 22 Oct 2007, 11:16

Translating

Hi Guys,
I want to translate my program into other languages, and I was wondering if any of you could help. I would especially like German (as that's were the game is originally from), but anything else would be good too. If you can speak another language and English, please contact me and I will send you a file with all the text to translate. Then my program can be easily used by not only English people!
Thanks,
Lewin.
<<

merchant_992

User avatar

Pikeman

Posts: 162

Joined: 11 Nov 2006, 23:00

Location: Rinsumageest, Nederland

Post 22 Oct 2007, 16:20

I speak dutch, and I can try to translate it.
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 28 Oct 2007, 23:26

Work lost

AAAAGGGGGHHHHH! :evil:
I just lost over 10 hours work!!!! :cry:
I had all the commands (including AI attacks and colors) working too!!!! :(
0.1.7 (that was meant to be out today) will be coming out next week.:?
Sorry about posting rubbish here, I just feel annoyed. :x
Lewin.
<<

The_Crow_

Peasant

Posts: 4

Joined: 29 Oct 2007, 23:00

Location: Europe

Post 30 Oct 2007, 01:37

Nice work, respect 8) I can speak german and bosnian (croatian) so I can try to translate it :)
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1231

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Finland

Post 30 Oct 2007, 13:21

Did you notice that your mission editor was mentioned at the news on Knights and Merchants DE? You should be honored :D I can speak Finnish and Swedish, but I doubt a translation to those languanges would be needed.
By the way, the update on the site will take a bit longer as some things took a bit longer than expected. Stay tuned!
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3820

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 31 Oct 2007, 00:50

Real Hotdog wrote:Did you notice that your mission editor was mentioned at the news on Knights and Merchants DE? You should be honored :D

Believe me, I am!!! My name is also on the front page of the polish fan site.
Real Hotdog wrote:I can speak Finnish and Swedish, but I doubt a translation to those languages would be needed.

I am after every language I can get, but as you have a lot to do with the fan site, I will find some one else to do Finnish and Swedish. I currently have offers for: Dutch, Polish (twice), German and Bosnian. (Croatian) Thanks everyone, I will send you the text soon.
Real Hotdog wrote:By the way, the update on the site will take a bit longer as some things took a bit longer than expected. Stay tuned!

That suits me. I am going to release a new version tomorrow that will have EVERY COMMAND WORKING!!!! :D
Keep up the great work!
Lewin.
Next

Return to Other Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron